User roles

Users within your Budibase environment can have a plethora of roles. It starts with development access and then can be fine-tuned in every application.

Access Permission

There are 3 levels of access permission to be used within Budibase. You can configure this when creating a new user, or update this whenever you have Administration permission.

  • Basic
  • Development
  • Administration

Basic permission is when both development and administration are disabled. This means a user can only view applications, and not edit them.

Development permission allows the user to not just view all applications, but also edit them.

Administration permission allows the user to manage users and global settings. Administration permission also requires development permission to be enabled.

Changing Permissions

To change the permission of another user, you need to have administration permission yourself. If this is the case, going to the homepage of your Budibase installation.

In the left-hand sidebar, you'll find a Manage > Users section to which you need to navigate.

Click on the user you want to change, and you'll be presented with a screen not much different than the Adding Users screen. When you scroll down a little bit you can configure Development and Administration roles. Keep in mind the Administration role requires the Development role also to be enabled.

Once you're happy with your access change, you can close the screen. The permissions save automatically.

App Specific Roles

All users in your app without Development permission will only see applications you give them access to. But not only can you configure which applications each user can see, you can also configure their role in each application.

There are several roles to choose from, which impact what the user will be able to do and see in your application based on the roles you've defined for each section inside your application.

Higher tier roles will be able to see everything lower tiers can see, plus their own role-specific elements. This means, an Admin role can see all the pages built for Power, Basic and Public roles.

Order

Role

Description

1

Public

Can see un-authenticated. Cannot be given to a user

2

Basic

Lowest authenticated role

3

Power

4

Admin

Highest authenticated role

📘

Order matters!

The order of user role matters. Higher roles can see everything from lower roles as well as their own.


Did this page help you?